14 Comments

Yes I feel a bit stuck! I have very clear ethical commitments, which I bring to my practice and my projects, but I feel stuck working with organisations whose commitments do not align with mine - either because they do not make anti-ableism / anti-racism central to their concerns, or because by their very nature they perpetuate harms / oppressions which means by extension I do too. I want to work with organisations for whom these concerns are central, but that is near impossible because there are so few of them within the arts sector, and those that do probably don't have any money...

Expand full comment

I am stuck at a place where I am overqualified but I feel unprepared for the next step.. so I feel stuck.. But working on it

Expand full comment
author

Sorry to hear that, but I know many people are reading this and having similar experiences. Love the strategy of "creating good things outside of my workplace" -- we are not solely defined by our workplace. And when we work in a toxic environment, it's key to find ways outside of it to bring good to world.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Mike Murawski

I am stuck in a toxic workplace because I have niche skills and family responsibilities. I try to survive by creating good things outside of my workplace and by creating pockets of good within it.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Mike Murawski

I'm an intern at an art museum in a city, and I've been meeting professional staff there through informational interviews. They all seem exhausted, and several have described doing the work of two people or not being able to achieve work-life balance. It's really disheartening since they are so talented and should be more recognized. I'm trying to remain optimistic that not all arts organizations ask so much.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022·edited Jul 11, 2022Liked by Mike Murawski

I feel like I have no room to make real change. Any advancement is halted by what seems like a never ending stream of “urgent“ issues. Some valid, some maybe not.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Mike Murawski

Craving normalcy and pivot exhaustion has depleted enthusiasm and openness for change. Change as hard and out of one's control, rather than reflecting on a new changed landscape and openness to emerging opportunity.

Expand full comment

To see in lot of cultural professionals a kind of pessimistic apocalyptic vission of all. A kind of imposibilitty to imagine a better future to fight for and to commit.

Expand full comment